Data breaches, identity theft, online and phone scams are a reality in our lives today. Never reveal sensitive financial information to a person or business you don’t know, whether they reach out to you via phone or text.


Please be aware that the International Institute of Physics, IIP, does not request payment information of any kind. Scammers sometimes approach participants claiming to be able to provide accommodation and asking for credit card information. Please do not give any information away. IIP will be in touch via official email regarding accommodation and financial support for qualified applicants. If you have any questions, please contact IIP events department at events@iip.ufrn.br

Fundamental Aspects of String Theory

Online Workshop | Monday, June 08, 2020 - Friday, June 12, 2020
Directors:
Nathan Berkovits (IFT, ICTP-SAIFR)
Thiago Fleury (IIP-UFRN)
Ashoke Sen (Harish-Chandra Research Institute, HBNI )
Brenno Vallilo (Universidad Andres Bello )

Register

OVERVIEW

 

The aim of the workshop is to bring together researchers working on string field theory, pure spinors, amplitudes and holography to discuss recent developments and to create new collaborations. Recently, many progresses have occurred on these fields such as new vertex operators, new integrable structures, new results in amplitudes and string perturbation theory. String theory is a consistent theory of quantum gravity and it can give us several new insights about it. Moreover, new methods developed originally in string theory can be used to study other conformal theories and gauge theories which have several applications in statistical mechanics, condensed matter and particle physics.

 

This workshop is jointly organized with the ICTP-Saifr in São Paulo.

 

 

The link for the ICTP is https://www.ictp-saifr.org/workshop-on-fundamental-aspects-of-string-theory.

 

TOPICS TO BE DISCUSSED

 

  • String field theory;
  • Pure spinors;
  • Amplitudes;
  • Holography.

 

REGISTRATION  

 

Due to Covid-19, the workshop will be organized as an online workshop. Originally it was three weeks long (two weeks in São Paulo and one week in Natal). 

 
In this new format, its duration will be only one week. The talks will be scheduled for Monday-Friday, June 8-12, from 8 am - 1 pm. 
 
 
It will consist of several 25-minutes talks which will be broadcast live using the Zoom platform.
 
 
The talks will use sharescreen with either slides or notes on the screen, and 5 minutes will be reserved for questions after every talk. 
 
 
The full list of speakers and the final event program is going to appear on this website in the future.  
 
 
Please register on the website to receive the link. There is no registration deadline. 
 
 
SCHEDULE

 

(EST is time in New York and CET is time in Paris):

 Monday June 8

Bosonic string field theory

8:00 EST (14:00 CET) Yuji Okawa – Gauge-invariant operators of open bosonic string field theory in the low-energy limit

8:30 EST (14:30 CET) Hiroshige Kajiura

9:00 EST (15:00 CET)  Hiroaki Matsunaga – Path-integral and quantum A_infinity structure of quantum field theory

9:30 EST (15:30 CET) Coffee break

9:45 EST (15:45 CET) Ted Erler

10:15 EST (16:15 CET) Harold Erbin  –  Algebraic structures of effective string field theory

10:45 EST (16:45 CET)  Coffee break

11:00 EST (17:00 CET) Matej Kudrna – SU(2) WZW model solutions in OSFT

11:30 EST (17:30 CET) Jim Stasheff – Gauge field theory: deformations, obstructions and higher structure

 

Tuesday June 9

Bosonic and superstring field theory

8:00 EST (14:00 CET) Hiroshi Kunitomo – Tree-level S-matrix of superstring field theory

8:30  EST (14:30 CET) Carlo Maccaferri

9:00 EST (15:00 CET) Jakub Vosmera – New results on localizing SFT effective actions

9:45 EST (15:45 CET) Nobuyuki Ishibashi – SFT for noncritical strings revisited

10:15  EST (16:15 CET) Barton Zwiebach – Hyperbolic string vértices

10:45 EST (16:45 CET) Coffee break

11:00 EST (17:00 CET) Mritunjay Verma – Open-closed superstring field theory

11:30 EST (17:30 CET)  Ruggero Noris

 

Wednesday June 10

String field theory applications

8:00 EST (14:00 CET) Toru Masuda – 1/K in open string field theory

8:30 EST (14:30 CET) Ivo Sachs – Type II SUGRA from the spinning world line

9:00 EST (15:00 CET)  Dimitri Skliros – A globally-defined gauge slice for moduli of super Riemann surfaces

9:30 EST (15:30 CET) Coffee break

9:45  EST (15:45 CET) Anupam Mazumdar – Resolution of singularities in infinite derivative gravity

10:15 EST (16:15 CET) Lorenz Schlechter – Bosonic string tachyon potentials from the N=1 point of view

10:45 EST (16:45 CET) Coffee break

11:00 EST (17:00 CET) Kevin Costello – The Green- Schwarz string from 4d Chern-Simons

11:30 EST (17:30 CET) Eduardo Casali – Higher genus monodromy relations and color-kinematics

 

Thursday June 11

Scattering amplitudes

8:00  EST (14:00 CET) Alak Laddha

8:30 EST (14:30 CET) Oliver Schlotterer

9:00 EST (15:00 CET) Leonardo Rastelli

9:30 EST (15:30 CET) Coffee break

9:45 EST (15:45 CET) Shota Komatsu – The boundary state from Wilson loops

10:15 EST (16:15 CET) Xi Yin – D-instanton calculus in c=1 string theory

10:45 EST (16:45 CET) Coffee break

11:00 EST (17:00 CET) Ashoke Sen

11:30 EST (17:30 CET) Albert Schwarz – Scattering matrix and inclusive scattering matrix in QFT and string field theory

 

Friday June 12

Ambitwistors and pure spinors

8:00 EST (14:00 CET) Lionel Mason

8:30  EST (14:30 CET) Yvonne Geyer

9:00  EST (15:00 CET) Subhroneel Chakrabarti

9:30 EST (15:30 CET) Coffee break

9:45  EST (15:45 CET) Sitender Pratap Kashyap

10:15 EST (16:15 CET)  Osvaldo Chandia – The pure spinor b ghost in curved backgrounds

10:45 EST (16:45 CET) Coffee break

11:00 EST (17:00 CET) Tim Adamo – Scattering in chiral strong backgrounds

11:30 EST (17:30 CET) Renann Lipinski Jusinskas – Chiral strings, the sectorized description and their integrated vertex operators